top of page

RIP Nasty Snuggle Bug

In 2014 a very mature (well endowed) 2-3 year old male tabby was hanging out at Lava Lava Beach Club and wandering over to eat and fight at our Abay feeding station. A bully and a smart bugger he eluded trapping for a couple weeks. When volunteers finally got him he was quickly named Nasty for his rotten behavior and attitude. For 2 years he was a pill. He didn't want attention.....touching him could result in serious bites or scratches. He did occasionally on his terms rub against your ankle but again......don't touch. In about May of this year he got me across the face pretty good as I ducked under a branch he was lounging on. Joining my friends for dinner after feeding was fun as blood dropped down my cheek......I'm a fun date.

I had a chat with Mr. Nasty after that and told him no more! For about 2 weeks I worked on him with chicken and positive reinforcement and finally got him to realize being pet is not such a bad thing. Long story long, we eventually got to the point where he would sit on my lap and let me hold him in my arms.

Over the next few months as he lost more and more weight it was obvious his time with us was nearing the end. Our vet confirmed he was dying of cancer related to his positive FIV/FELV status. She said he probably had a week or 2 left. My husband and I agreed to bring him home so he wouldn't spend his last days in the wild. He spent a month with us and it was wonderful. Inside that bully was an amazingly loving, affectionate little guy who I renamed Snuggle Bug. This afternoon he peacefully passed away in my arms, but he will always hold a special place in our hearts.

I learned a lot from this little Nasty Snuggle Bug. Don't give up, patience and love can do wonders. Don't judge someone for their rough exterior, you never know their story or what soft heart might be hiding inside.

RIP Nasty Snuggle Bug, don't forget what I told you about that beautiful rainbow bridge and everyone who will be there to meet you, until we meet again.🐈❤👼


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page